A super-overdue update

5 Jul

Its a bit embarrassing to realise that my last post was about 2 years ago. Lots has changed… I no longer live in Australia, I am gainfully employed, and I own my own horse.

Yes, finally, my childhood dream has become reality. In March this year, I was declined Life Insurance. It was a shock to be told that my health and life expectancy is so poor that I was un-insurable. Well fuck you, I thought, if my life is going to be short then I’ll have fun while I’m here. So I purchased a horse on my credit card.

His name is Blue, he’s a 15 year old grey thoroughbred gelding. And I fell off him for the first time on Friday. I have no recollection of the incident, or of the 4 hours after it, but apparently he shied at something, and I was tired and just went splat on the ground.

It’s given me my very first concussion. They are awful things, one thing people never warn you about is how incredibly boring they are. So I got stuck into online shopping.

One thing led to another, and I now find myself the owner of another sidesaddle.

What happened to Somerset? Well, when I was leaving Australia I had to make a hard choice. I’d finally seen the light and realised that most of the saddle was unsalvageable, the leather was just too degraded. The tree was mostly sound, but without a cutback head, is worthless. Wendy Tidbold must have had 20 or 30 of them stashed around her workshop. I was shipping my stuff back to NZ, and NZ Customs is super-strict about anything organic or having been in contact with animals, it would have put my whole shipment at risk to include antique saddlery. So sadly Somerset went in the rubbish. But I did learn so much about saddles from taking her apart and trying to salvage the leather, so it wasn’t a waste.

Leave a Reply

