Wonderful wedding

8 Apr

Oh the wedding was INCREDIBLE! Such, such a fantastic time, and everything was perfect – the weather, the location, the outfits, the people, the food, the drink.

My plans to wear the two dresses went awry, as it turned out the ceremony and reception were in the same place :-p so I just wore the Vionnet dress. However, I didn’t have a suitable hat and it was extremely sunny. A quick visit to the most amazing Napier art deco hat shop, and I left with a rather expensive but fabulous white hat.

Not really 1920s but oh well. And it wasn’t until later that day I realised it was a basic hat, with the brim folded up and stitched down. I’ll be making some more of those soon!

There are no brilliant ‘dress’ photos of me from the wedding, but I’m in a couple of group shots.

The hat doesn't really go, but was brilliant at keeping the sun off my face.

The hat doesn’t really go, but was brilliant at keeping the sun off my face.

Me and my big brother, who looks remarkably like a Kraut. He used my brown eyebrow pencil to make his little moustache

Me and my big brother, who looks remarkably like a Kraut. He used my brown eyebrow pencil to make his little moustache

About to sing at the ceremony

About to sing at the ceremony

The next day I wore the purple dress to the post-wedding breakfast, and out to Hastings to visit my great-aunt. There are some photos but I don’t know who has them on their cellphone.

Sadly the Vionnet dress has not survived the wearings very well – my lazy hemming quickly frayed beyond the seam and I now have raw edges appearing. I’m going to destruct the dress and use the material as lining for skirts etc. But I am seriously thinking of making it again and doing it properly, making it shorter so more flattering on me, and belting the waist. I do have a ball coming up!

One Response to “Wonderful wedding”

  1. Theresa April 8, 2013 at 11:55 PM #

    Absolutely stunning, hon. I’m so thrilled your dress turned out so well — and so envious you know how to sew!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

