Natural Disaster sewing

27 Jan

I’ve had a whirlwind start to 2013. 

  • I went back to Australia. 
  • Found out with 3 days notice that I needed to shift to Hervey Bay.
  • My car broke it’s water pump -> blew the head gasket -> cooked the engine. She is dead. 
  • Cyclone Oswald blew in and while I am (mostly) dry, theres flooding everywhere north and south of here. I think that even if I had a car, I couldn’t get out of town. 

So all this has changed my plans somewhat. 
Somerset is looking GRAND in the storage unit. I gave her another coating of oil, and I’m hoping like hell the storage place doesn’t flood. However because my car is being scrapped, I have to buy a new one – which will use all my inheritance money, and more. This means she won’t be getting refurbished this year, very sad. 

I did, however, bring Elna with me to Hervey Bay. My cousin’s Art Deco wedding is at the start of March and I am sewing myself two spiffing outfits. One for the wedding itself, and another for the evening function at the vineyards. 

The day outfit I want to be cotton, light, comfortable and have a hat. 

Image

I quite like these ones

And I’m going to use some fabric from my stash. Hurrah!

Image

On top, the lilac-grey rayon I got loads of for about $1 a metre.
Below, a cotton purple check from the op shop. 3.5m for $4.

So for the first time I have not got a proper pattern, and made a sketch of what I want.

Image

This is possibly the best drawing I have done since 5th form Art Class. Despite the 8+ fingers on each hand.

I’m not completely drafting it by myself though – the Readers Digest Guide To Sewing, and the vintage guide “The One Hour Dress” is stepping me through it.

4 Responses to “Natural Disaster sewing”

  1. neitherplacenortime January 27, 2013 at 7:13 AM #

    I can’t tell you how thrilled I am to see this post! I am sorry to hear about Ariel though.

  2. Theresa January 28, 2013 at 1:40 AM #

    Looking forward to following along on your swing journey!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

